Gallery Visit – The Biscuit Factory

Taking a nibble out of the Biscuit Factory

A day off work gave me the opportunity to begin my exploration of other artists work by making a visit to The Biscuit Factory, an independent commercial art gallery in Newcastle. I’ve visited the other galleries in town but never this one so it seemed like a good place to start.

The first thing that struck me was how light and airy the place is, very informal and unstuffy.  Very conducive to wandering around and studying the work.  The second thing that I noticed was the wide variety of work on display, not just fine art but photography and ceramics too.  All of the work here is by contemporary artists and, as it is a commercial gallery, all are for sale, the majority with a price tag.

I have no formal education in the arts, the reason why I am undertaking study with the OCA, so I have no preconceived ideas about what art is, or should be. The journey begins right here.  So here goes, apologies for the lack of art vocabulary, hopefully this will improve as I study more.

Most of the work here seems to be accessible and pleasing to look at.  All of the work  seemed of a very high standard.  Several artists appealed to me.  I found myself drawn to the landscapes and the realism on show. I admire the work that has gone into making something look “lifelike”.  I can see real craftsmanship at work here such as James Stewart.  He has painted various animals all from the same, side-on perspective in great detail.  He describes it as a pop art style and depicts the animal to reveal it’s true beauty.  They are like illustrations in a reference manual or a glossy brochure for an expensive car.  Here is an example

Giraffe

On the other hand, the landscapes on show here vary enormously and are not “photographs in paint” but I can really relate to these.  These are much more abstract and concerned with capturing the whole experience of being in the landscape.  The big skies with approaching storms and light playing across the fields and mountains.  As a keen fell walker and photographer I am well aware of the importance of light on the landscape and how difficult it is to capture the essence of a scene.  Most of these have nailed it and much more effectively than most photographs of the same place could,  I know because I have tried and failed repeatedly.

approaching shower – stephen heyward

when the sun warms your neck – pete marsh

The depiction of “the way back but the mist is closing in” by the same artist has a direct resonance.  I’m sure I’ve actually been there or thereabouts and the bleak, loneliness of the damp, cold moor can almost be felt. I’ve been in this situation so the art work rings true

The most surprising of the landscape work here is by Julie Dumbarton.  I suspect she is very successful and her work sells well as it is visually, very appealing.  I would expect landscape painting to contain green fields and blue skies but not Julie’s.  Fair enough there is a hint of blue in the sky above “Glencoe” but look at the glen and the mountains.  A riot of colour.  Pinks, turquoise, red, colours that aren’t there in life.  The road through the glen is a zig zag slash of sky blue.  Looking close up all of this chaos can’t possibly work but step back and look at the whole scene.  Fantastic.  None of the landscapes here have went for photo-realism but they all work incredibly well.  Not what I myself would have thought before visiting.

Ian Mitchell has went in the opposite direction.  Taking scenes down to their very basic lines, in the style of early 20th century travel posters.  Very simplistic and very well done.

Another artist who caught my eye was Alastair Brooks.  Two Hewers and Another day depict coal miners in day to day drudgery.

His use of colour and tone is interesting.  Quite bright imagery yet he manages to convey resigned weariness.  The slumped, dejected figures drawn inexorably to the pit.  The two hewers appear to be returning home wearily in the rain.

Very much in the style of the pitmen painters, although not a miner himself.  I visited the Norman Cornish exhibition at the Northumbria University Gallery last year and intend to research him more as I found his work very evocative of a bygone lifestyle.  The Ashington Group collection is also housed at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum at Ashington and that is also on my list.

But, Back to The Biscuit Factory.  This is an excellent gallery of contemporary art and I really enjoyed the experience.  The exhibitions change regularly so I will definitely be back to continue my journey.

Here’s my homage to Alastair Brooks, Soft pastels A3

 

One thought on “Gallery Visit – The Biscuit Factory

  1. Pingback: Gallery Visit – The Northeast Art Collective | Bryan Mac's OCA Learning Blog

Leave a comment